Fazhion II

Maddison Carter

Former Miss World contestant : Maddison Carter

Working in a studio reminds me of the days of black and white printing, you enter an artificially lit world where time stops, creativity takes over and a caffeine powered brain melts down. However the similarity ends here as darkrooms were great places for mushrooms, (you feel like one after an hour or two in a darkroom) but gratefully digital photography and photoshop have kicked heinous chemicals and expensive photographic paper out the window. Needless to write working in a studio with a gorgeous model is more fun than playing with chemicals in a darkroom. Fashion fantasy goes to zenith level in a studio. Soft boxes and strobe lighting propells a model as far from reality and as close to heaven without leaving the planet. Recently I was given the opportunity (and privilege) of photographing a former Miss World contestant Maddison Carter. Balancing lights, calculating exposures, composing poses, and discussing compositional elements with other creative people for me is intellectually stimulating. However I must admit, when it comes to fashion takes I’m still on trainee wheels. What I’ve learnt so far (after many a crash) is that studio faz is not all about glamour, it is also about communication and finding a common lingo with the team who put the model together. I’m on trainee wheels also because I am still trying to find my own style and simply don’t what to ape other great photographic work. A unique style is what separates a good photographic take from pretty pictures. Anybody these days can take a pretty picture, but it is when people can say who took the photo without looking at the byline that your style begins to shine……..(editors at Vogue please note)…………I still need a byline.

Maddy & Katrina

Katrina Dixon hair stylist working on Maddy ( Maddison Carter)

Just a short note here to say thank you to the talented team who gave me the opportunity to expand my folio. Thank you Lynette Holland cloths designer, Rachael Gregory make-up artist, Katrina Dixon hair stylist and Maddison Carter gorgeous model. I commend their services to Vogue, Haper’s Baazar, Mayfair and all in the faz game who should be falling over themselves to acquire your great talent.

Mike

About mikewrite2night

Professional photographer, on trainee writing wheels
This entry was posted in fashion photography. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment